MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

P.O. Box 504
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65102-0504
Bos HoLDeN PHONE: 673-751-9691 FAX: 573-751-4135 CATHERINE B. LEAPHEART
GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT DIRECTOR
RECEIVED
0CT 2 8 2004
MEMORANDUM »
Propeny & Casuaity
Section

TO:  All Workers® Compensation Insurance Companies, Self-Insured Employers,
Group Trusts and Third-Party Administrators
FROM: Catherine B. Leapheart, Director '
Missouri Department of Labor and industrial Relations
Scott Lakin, Director
Missouri Department of Insurance

DATE: October 27, 2004

SUBJECT: Workers’ Compensation Administrative Tax, Second Injury Fund Surcharge and
Administrative Surcharge for the 2005 Calendar Year

As required by Chapter 287, RSMo, the state of Missouri assesses a workers’ compensation
administrative tax, an administrative surcharge and second injury fund surcharge to maintain the
fiscal integrity of the workers’ compensation administrative fund and the second injury fund.
During the coming calendar year 2005, the state of Missouri will assess a workers’ compensation
administrative tax of 0 percent, an administrative surcharge of 0 percent and a second injury
fund surcharge of 3.5 percent.

Our Departments are pleased that we can alleviate the administrative tax and administrative
surcharge at this time for Missouri employers.

The revenue from the administrative tax and the administrative surcharge is used to fund the
administrative expenses associated with the administration of the Missouri Workers’
Compensation laws. State law requires the Director of the Division of Workers’ Compensation
to estimate the amount of revenue required to administer the workers’ compensation laws each
year and to determine the rate of tax to be paid in the following calendar year. If the estimated
available balance of the fund on December 31 of the year the tax rate determination is made falls
below 110 percent of the previous year’s expenses, the director must impose a tax not to exceed
2.0 percent. Based on the division director’s assessment of the fund balance and prior
expenditures, a 0% administrative tax and a 0% administrative surcharge are needed for calendar
year 2005.

It is important to note that the administrative surcharge required by §287.716, RSMo, will
always be assessed at the same rate as the workers’ compensation administrative tax. The
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administrative surcharge will be assessed at the same time and in the same manner as the
administrative tax assessment, but it is not an administrative tax. The portion of a workers’
compensation deductible policy subject to the administrative surcharge will no longer be subject
to the administrative tax. As a result, there should be no net impact on the revenue generated by
the new combination of the administrative tax and the administrative surcharge when compared
to the previous administrative tax alone. Employers that self-insure their workers’ compensation
risk are not subject to the administrative surcharge.

The revenue generated by the second injury fund surcharge is used to pay benefits from the fund.
The amount of surcharge assessed must be adequate to generate, as nearly as possible, 110
percent of the amount projected to be paid from the Second Injury Fund in the ensuing calendar
year, minus the balance contained in the fund at the end of the previous calendar year. Based on
the division director’s assessment of the fund balance and projected expenditures, this
assessment will be set at 3.5 percent for 2005.

A copy of the second injury fund surcharge form is available on the Internet at
www.dolir.mo.gov/. To order a mailed copy, please call 573-526-4963.

The Department of Labor and Industrial Relations and the Department of Insurance look forward
to working with you in 2005. If you have questions or need additional information, contact the
Division of Workers” Compensation at 888-837-6069 or the Department of Insurance at
800-394-0964.



